Colour Inspirations

I think one of the reasons I love working with textiles so much is my love of colour and texture. On a visit to Florence a year ago, I visited a textiles recycling business and loved the patterns and textures created by the bales of sorted fabrics, I have lots of images like the following two in masses of colour ways.

IFA Florence Trip 084        IFA Florence Trip 086

I often return to inspirations such as these in my design and sketch books, and they influence the hand dying of fibres and yarns I create for Grace and Jacob. I think colour influence is sometimes subliminal and it  seeps  into every aspect of  my textile work, a simple example is the final layer of hand dyed fibre on these hand felted slippers.

Berlin March 2010 142

Remind you of anything?

If you have a hankering to learn to hand dye or to hand felt your own slippers further information can be found here

http://www.graceandjacob.co.uk/userimages/procart3.htm

Look forward to sharing more thoughts, ideas and inspirations with you soon.

 

Fiona x

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

